HSRC Council 2006/07

Professor Jakes Gerwel (Chair) Chancellor, Rhodes University; Distinguished Professor, University of the Western Cape; Honorary Professor, University of Pretoria; Chair of the Nelson Mandela Foundation, the Mandela Rhodes Foundation, the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation, the Institute for Justice and Reconciliation, South African Airways, Brimstone Investment, Africon Engineering, Life Healthcare, Media24; and Director of Naspers, Old Mutual and Distell.



Ms Nomboniso Gasa

Commissioner, Commission on Gender Equality. Board member of the Development Bank of Southern Africa. A feminist-activist, essayist, writer and researcher who has published on a number of issues, especially democratisation in

sub-Saharan Africa, national gender machineries and masculinist representations of African cultures.

Dr Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela

Associate Professor, Psychology Department, University of Cape Town; Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Association for Education Training; Board member of International Alert (London), the Institute for Justice and



Reconciliation, and Healing of the Memories Institute; Director of Human Dialogue & Leadership.

Mr Kimi Makwetu

Director, Deloitte & Touche, formerly Divisional Director (Finance), Liberty Life; Member of the Robben Island Museum Audit Committee; and formerly Trustee of Zanempilo Health Trust.



Professor Wally Morrow

Formerly Professor of Philosophy of Education and Dean of Education at the University of the Western Cape, Dean of Education at the University of Port Elizabeth, and Chair of the Ministerial Committee on Teacher Education:



currently a member of the Board of the South African Qualifications Authority, and an independent researcher serving on the research committees of the South African Qualifications Authority and Amalusi, and the accreditation committee of the CHE Higher Education Quality Committee.

Mr Enver Motala

Independent researcher and researchcoordinator for institutions such as WK Kellogg Foundation, CSIR, Council on Higher Education, Higher Education South Africa, the Centre for Education Policy Development, the Nelson Mandela Foundation, NUFFIC and the Department of Trade and Industry.



Mrs Phumelele Ntombela-Nzimande Director, SABC, formerly Deputy Director-General, Department of Communications, Postal Policy; Council member of the Universities of KwaZulu-Natal and Venda; Chair of the South African Postal Regulator and the Pan Africanist Postal Union Council.

Mr Sipho Pityana

Executive Chairperson: Izingwe Capital (Pty) Limited; Chair of the Nelson Mandela Bay Development Agency; Vice-Chair of Aberdare Cables; Deputy Chair of the



National Student Financial Aid Scheme; Director of Bytes Technology Group, Musuku Benefication Systems; Board member of Boxing SA.

Mr Max Sisulu

Group General Manager, Sasol; Board member of Imperial Holdings, Stocks Building Africa; Member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Premier of the Free State Province.



Professor Edward Webster

Professor of Sociology and Director of Sociology of Work Unit, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits); President of the Research Committee of Labour Movements for the International Sociological Association; top-rated National Research Foundation sociologist; Senior Fulbright Scholar, United States.

Dr Olive Shisana

HSRC President and CEO; formerly Executive Director of the HSRC's Social Aspects of HIV/AIDS and Health research programme; Professor of Health Systems at the Medical University of South Africa;



Executive Director, Family and Community Health at the World Health Organisation, Switzerland; Director-General of the South African Department of Health; Group Manager, South African Medical Research Council: and Acting Chief of Research and Statistics Division, District of Columbia (local) Government (USA).